Something a little different

Excited about Ramadan?

Tomorrow will be the first day of the Muslim month of fasting when Muslims fast from dawn till sunset. The Islamic calendar is based on the moon so a month lasts for 29 or 30 days which is why Ramadan falls at different times every year on the Gregorian calendar.

Ramadan is for me the most eagerly awaited month of the year because it is my favourite month. What could be so great about not eating and drinking for 19 hours you may ask? Well refraining from food, drink and sexual relations during daylight hours isn’t all that it’s about. Ramadan is all about personal development and trying to better oneself. It helps me to feel more focused and super motivated and determine to reach my goals. It was during Ramadan of 2011 that I started painting my Lily series which was a defining moment for me as an artist as it was at this time I decided to take that step and decide to start building a career as a self representing artist.

It is also a very social time for Muslims and a reminder to us of every blessing that we have and should be grateful for. 

Over the course of this month I want to share some of my thoughts and feelings of this time inshaAllah (God willing). I will be posting on this blog as well as my other blog: http://www.yezarcksblog.blogspot.co.uk

image

Wishing you a blessed Ramadan 🙂

Samar

Leave a Reply

